The Early Years
(12 Jul 1921 -
27 Jan 1942)

Army Air Forces
(28 Jan 1942 -
1 Aug 1943)

Post Ploesti
(2 Aug 1943 -
31 Jul 2006)

Most Recently
(1 Aug 2006 -

Official MOH Citations:

US Army

US Air Force

Congressional Medal of Honor Society



Aggie Seven




Contact Me

2nd Lt. Lloyd Herbert "Pete" Hughes, Jr.
(12 Jul 1921 - 1 Aug 1943)

Distinguished Alumni Gala To Celebrate 50th Anniversary

The Association of Former Students will celebrate the former students who have received the Distinguished Alumnus Award — including this year’s recipients — at the 2012 Distinguished Alumni Gala, hosted by The Association and Texas A&M University.

This prestigious black-tie event, which is celebrating its 50th anniversary this year, will be held Friday, Sept. 21, in the Bethancourt Family Grand Ballroom of the Memorial Student Center on the Texas A&M campus at 6:30p.m.

In addition to celebrating the 216 former students who have received the Distinguished Alumnus Award — Texas A&M’s highest honor — the ceremony will also recognize this year’s recipients who once again exemplify the very best of Texas A&M.

• Donald A. Adam ’57;
• Bob J. Surovik ’58;
• Tommie E. Lohman ’59; and
• General Hal M. Hornburg (USAF, Ret) ’68.

Texas A&M and The Association also recognize eight recipients posthumously, including the seven Aggies recognized with the Medal of Honor.

• Dr. Robert V. Walker ’45

Medal of Honor Recipients

• George D. Keathley ’37;
• Horace S. Carswell, Jr. ’38;
• Dr. Eli L. Whiteley ’41;
• Turney W. Leonard ’42;
• Thomas W. Fowler ’43;
• William G. Harrell ’43; and
• Lloyd H. Hughes ’43.

To view the profiles of all of Texas A&M’s Distinguished Alumni, visit the Tribute Wall page, located on The Association’s website.

Source: Online article "Distinguished Alumni Gala To Celebrate 50th Anniversary" dated 20 Sep 2012 in the TAMUtimes web site.

Created: November 2, 2012

Home to Rajordan
Last updated: July 05, 2017

Texas Flag Line
Copyright 2006-2016 by Rajordan. All rights reserved.
This web site was created on August 1, 2006.