The Early Years
(12 Jul 1921 -
27 Jan 1942)

Army Air Forces
(28 Jan 1942 -
1 Aug 1943)

Post Ploesti
(2 Aug 1943 -
31 Jul 2006)

Most Recently
(1 Aug 2006 -

Official MOH Citations:

US Army

US Air Force

Congressional Medal of Honor Society



Aggie Seven




Contact Me

2nd Lt. Lloyd Herbert "Pete" Hughes, Jr.
(12 Jul 1921 - 1 Aug 1943)

Texas Leads All States in Number of Men Awarded Medal of Honor

By Tex Easley

WASHINGTON, June 23 (AP). - The recent awarding of the 100th Congressional Medal of Honor to an infantryman, in a special joint session of the Senate and House, brought to attention the fact that Texas leads all states in the number of sons who have been so distinguished.

Eighteen Texans were recipients of the highest tribute that can be paid a man by his country.

214 Have Been Awarded

The total awards for all services in this war is 214, of whom, 132 recipients are still living. Since the awarding of the 100th medal to an infantryman in the special ceremonies, at least two others in that branch of service have been decorated. About half of the infantrymen are still living.

Technically the name of the award is "Medal of Honor," the designation "Congressional" not being used in formal documents. It is the most rarely awarded decoration of all, was established by an act of Congress in 1862 and is awarded in the name of Congress.

It is given to an officer or enlisted man of the armed services who, in actual conflict with an enemy, distinguishes himself conspicuously by gallantry and intrepidity at risk of his life and above and beyond the call of duty. There have been rare exceptions to this general rule, as in the case of Charles A. Lindbergh.

Medal of Honor wearers may - and the may is emphasized - be saluted by all regardless of their rank, but this is a matter of courtesy only. The recipients are the only ones entitled to a salute by the person making the presentation during the ceremonies. The wearer, if an enlisted man, in entitled to a $2 a month additional pay. He is not privileged to address Congress at his pleasure.

Sgt. Adams Among 18

The 18 Texans who won the Medal of Honor are:

Staff Sgt. Lucian Adams, Port Arthur; Lt. Col. Robert G. Cole, San Antonio; 1st Lt. James H. Fields, Fort Worth; 2nd Lt. Thomas W. Fowler, Wichita Falls; 2nd Lt. Lloyd H. Hughes, Corpus Christi; Col. Neel W. Kearby, San Antonio; Sgt. George D. Keathly, Lamesa; Sgt. James A. Logan, Luling; 1st Lt. Jack W. Mathis, San Angelo; 2nd Lt. John C. Morgan, Amarillo; 2nd Lt. James L. Harris, Hillsboro; Lt. Jack Knight, Mineral Wells; 1st Lt. Audie L. Murphy, Farmersville; Technician 4th Grade Truman Kimbro, Houston; Sgt. Jose M. Lopez, Brownsville; all of the Army; Sgt. William James Bordelon; San Antonio and 1st Lt. William Dean Hawkins, El Paso, both in the Marine corps, and Seaman 1C Johnnie David Hutchins, East Barnard.

Notes: I believe that "James A. Logan" from Luling, Caldwell County, Texas, is James Marion Logan.

Source: Personal papers. Newspaper article from Page 4 of The Port Arthur News, Port Arthur, Jefferson County, Texas, USA, dated 24 Jun 1945.

Created: July 17, 2008

Home to Rajordan
Last updated: July 05, 2017

Texas Flag Line
Copyright 2006-2016 by Rajordan. All rights reserved.
This web site was created on August 1, 2006.